Skip to main content

What to expect in the EYFS - Guide for parents


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) outlines what adults must do to help children learn and develop and to be healthy and safe.

This guide is for parents, carers and guardians of children from birth to five years old. It will help you find out more about your child’s learning and development in the EYFS.

The EYFS includes seven areas of learning and development. In this guide the seven areas are split into three age bands - birth to three, 3-4, 4-5 (the reception year in school)

In each band, there are suggestions about what your child may be doing, and how you can help them. It’s important to remember that children develop in different ways and at different rates.

Address and contact information


Local Offer

Local Offer Age Bands
0-4 years old
5-11 years old
SEN Provision Type